The London Marathon

Club Places Criteria

UPDATED Mar 2021

To be eligible for one of the club places and be entered into the club ballot you need to :-

1. Have been a member for at least 2 years before the club ballot takes place.

2. Not have received a club place during the last 5 years

3. Be able to provide proof of rejection for the coming race (email or photo of the magazine with name and address)

4. Must be a fully paid up member in April as a first claim member, ie paying your club fees in May does not count!!


When / where and how to enter will be published by email to club members in due course (Usually late October / early November)

The number of entries given to each club is based on the number of affiliated first claim registered members over the age of 18 the club has.

Club Members / Marathon places (2020 quota)

As can be seen club allocated places were reduced in 2017.

10-150   members  1 place
151-250       " 2   "
251-350      " 3   "
351+             " 4    "


More info on this allocation process can be found HERE London Marathon Club Places


2021 TBC

2020 Paul Davis and Johnathan Hunter

2019 Patrick Walker and Shaun Marshall

2018 Nick Frere and Rupert Wilks

2017 Darren Wilson and Carl Horth 

2016 Steve Rennie and Sam Mould

2015 Ian Fergusson, Fiona Robinson and David Rivers

Please note that of 2021 we will no longer be organising travel for club members. Other local clubs may step in to fill the void in time.